I have confess that I am a city girl.  I think that the country is good for my soul, but there a lot of aspects of country living that elude me.  Gardening.  I do not know how to garden.  Its so not as easy as throwing seeds in the ground.  At least not for me.

Baking bread.  Every attempt of mine has been a massive failure.  Yeast and I simply do not get along.  What am I doing?  I’m naming the activities that I think a farmer’s wife should be able to do well.  I’m a good learner, but I need a teacher to get me started on a couple of how-to’s of farmer’s wife living.  Quilting is another thing I want to do, but I need to be taught how to do it.  I’m not as hard on myself about this one because I feel like it is a craft that needs to be honed.  Gardening and bread making seem to me like they should be no-brainers.

A man and his chickens.

I feel like a farmer’s wife should be a do-it-yourselfer.  And I want to be a do-it-yourselfer.  I just need to learn.  Meg was my knitting teacher initially and then YouTube took over where she left off.  My mom was actually my sewing teacher, “Thread the bobbin,” etc.  YouTube took over for her as well.

Writing this blog has made me want to set goals for myself.  The goals of a farmer’s wife and otherwise.  But I get intimidated to set goals in such a public forum and not meet them.  One reason I probably want to set goals is my friend E.  She’s my blog guru.  E sets goals for herself, posts them on her blog and then talks about her progress.  Sometimes she meets her goals and sometimes she doesn’t.  She invites her readers into the process.  Picture me with a big fake smile and a cheesy voice: Its more about the joy in the journey than the end result.  Cheesy but true.

I had been intimidated by this public goal setting when I wrote my Lent post, but, now I’m going to put it all out there.  During Lent, after asking a series of questions, I decided to focus on peace and friendship.  Instead of giving up something, I’m doing something.  For peace, I’m reading scripture every day.  Even if its only one word.  I set the bar very low for myself, so that I could actually commit.  For friendship, I’m talking to friends on the phone (at least two a week).  I’m also trying to reach out to one soon-to-be friend here on the Eastern Shore each week.  This is much more of a challenge.

E has lists of goals that she’s cleverly named 30 before 30 and 12 in ’12.  I think I’ll call mine the Bucket List of a Farmer’s Wife.  I’m not sure what my time frame should be.  Maybe I should go in seasons like a farmer.  Also, I think with me and goals, less is more.  When I try to do and commit myself to too much, failure is imminent.

Winter 2012:

Learn how to make bread.

Finish knitting my sweater.

Spring 2012:

Create a garden.

Summer 2012:

Tend the garden and eat from the garden.

Make a wearable item of clothing with the sewing machine.

Fall 2012:

Make a quilt.

For the year:

Stick to a budget without going crazy.

Volunteer.

Make friends.

Find a church.

Read an intimidating classic. (Originally, I wanted to read one each season, but…I’m just too intimidated.)

Feel comfortable and confident as a Nurse Practitioner.

Run/walk/bike/do yoga consistently.  Not all of these, just be active consistently.

I read somewhere that writing down your goals can actually prevent you from achieving them.  “They” said that its as if your brain feels as if you have achieved your goal because you said it out loud or wrote it down.  Hopefully this won’t be the case for me.

I know that achieving goals does not equal happiness.  And I don’t want to go into this goal-setting process with that attitude.  How do I want to think of them?  Just as life-enhancing-activities or soul-stretching-hobbies or I don’t know.  I’d like to make my life and the lives of those around me better by moving towards these goals.

