Last week before my friend Julie left for Mozambique, she asked me if I had been able to trust that God has a good plan for me.  I had a hard time responding.  Sometimes I can trust. I depend on my circumstances and my feelings to be reassured that I am being taken care of.  I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  How??  How can you be content whatever the circumstances?  I know that people have been giving thanks and counting their thousands of gifts lately.  I’m sure that they are onto something.

I’m thankful for my dogs.

I’m thankful to live by the water.

I’m thankful for time to write.

I’m thankful for the desire to write.

I’m thankful that Gregg has the chance to farm.

I’m thankful for treasures to be found on the beach.

I’m thankful for my first friend date that I had yesterday.

I’m thankful for feeling close to my friends even though they are far away.

I’m thankful for the sunshine and the blue sky.

I’m thankful that my family is safe and healthy.

I’m thankful for this sunroom and for this space heater.

Confession: my thought after the tenth gift was: is that how you do it?  Did I do it right?  Silly.

I’m thankful for time, which I hardly ever have, but I have now.

The more I give thanks, the more thankful I am.  But some things just suck.  One time my small group in San Francisco gave thanks for what was going poorly in their lives.  After each person shared, we questioned if giving thanks was the correct response.  I don’t think we came to an answer.  Sometimes, I’m sure that give thanks for poor circumstances is the appropriate response, but what is making a change or asking for a change is even better?

I’m thankful for coffee.  Really.

I’m thankful when Gregg and I just be together.

