You: So, you finally got a job?

Me: Yeah, I did.

You: That’s great.  What is it?

Me: Its a nurse practitioner position, and the focus is primarily on hormone replacement.

You: Oh.

Me: Yeah, its kind of alternative.

You: Do you like it?

Me: Yes, so far I do.  The people I’m working with are nice, and I really like talking with the patients.

You: Well, congratulations.  Its been a long time coming.

Me: Yes ma’am/sir, it has.

 

Gregg: How was your first day at work?

Me: It was good.

Gregg:  Oh good.  Why was it good?

Me: Blah, blah, blah, explanation.

 

Gregg: How was work today?

Me: It was okay.

Gregg:  Okay.  Just okay?  Why just okay?

Me: Well, I guess it was fine.  So-and-so got on my nerves and this other thing was kind of annoying.

Gregg:  Fine.  Oh.  Okay.

 

Gregg: How was your day?

Me: It was fine.

Gregg:  Fine.  Why was it fine?

Me: Blah, blah, blah, explanation.

 

P.S. He doesn’t like for my work day to be just okay.

P.P.S.  I got a job!

