I went into work for training one day last week.  I love my new boss.  He’s one of those people that compliments everybody all the time, even his patients.  He’s very genuine about it (not creepy), and, I must admit, when the compliments turn to me, I soak it up.

I sat in on a meeting during lunch that included the entire office staff: medical, front desk, and therapists.  Something happened to me that has not happened in a long time.  I was hyper-aware of my height.  I’m five-foot-one; the therapists all seemed to be slender, fashionable, and at least six feet tall.  Some were wearing heels, some flats, and I was just walking around the room with a craned neck getting introduced to everyone.  I had flats on, as always, but I was seriously contemplating making a beeline from the meeting to the nearest shoe store to purchase some heels, or at least some wedges.

I’m never the tallest in the room, unless I’m in a fifth grade class room, which I never am.  Gregg is six-foot-three, so I’m used to the neck-craning.  Maybe my awareness was due to the fact that they were all women.  Maybe it was because I was meeting them all for the first time.  It would be one thing if they were tall, ugly, and poorly dress, but, not so.  I have a couple of tall friends, and I’m not thinking about how tall they are the whole time we are together.  But, seriously, it was like I was in a women’s basketball locker room or the first day of high school, as a freshman, gazing up, intimidated by the seniors thinking, I’ll never be that tall.  And, its true, in this case, I will never be as tall as these women.

Thankfully, after the meeting, the one other shortie in the bunch introduced herself to me.  She said that she’d love for me to stop by her office some time, blah, blah, blah.  Very nice.  I said that we shorties need to stick together.  I didn’t really say that, but I felt it.

To top off the day, I went to dinner with my parents who had been in town for the week.  We went to a nice restaurant on a pier in Norfolk.  I went to the bathroom to wash my hands before the meal.  After washing up, I looked up to the mirror (you know, to check myself out real quick), all I could see was the top of my head.  Really?  Seriously?  After a day with giants, I’m not even tall enough to look myself over in the mirror.  I surrender.  I’ll pick up some cheap wedges from Target next week.  My mom said that she found some cute ones on sale.

