My former pastor Heath (the one who cried while marrying us) once said that after two years, you are no longer considered a newlywed.  When he said that, I remember feeling a little sad, like I wanted to be a newlywed forever.  But now?  Bring it on.

Two years.  We’ve lived in 3 different houses plus one apartment.  I’ve started and finished my master’s degree.  I’ve had 4 jobs.  Gregg’s had 3.  We’ve vacationed in Columbia and Hawaii.  We’ve been without jobs, without friends, and without a church.  But we’ve had each other.  With everything that’s changed around us, we have been constant to each other.  I like thinking about that.

Constant=Not going anywhere=Loved no matter what=Committed to each other even when you wanna run away

One thought I’ve had about marriage is that it does get easier, like they all say.  But its not easier in the way I thought it would be.  We still get frustrated and hurt feelings, but the arguments are not as dramatic as we have grown into each other.  We keep getting to know each other better.  We have learned/are learning to disagree well.

We aren’t getting each other gifts for our anniversary this year.  (We did have a mini-shopping spree, taking advantage of Patagonia’s semi-annual 50% off sale.)  I’m making Gregg write me a letter.  And I’m going to write him one, too.  We’re also going to celebrate with Batman and a slow moving trip through the mountains and back to Knoxville.  We’ll be headed to our good friend and matchmaker Joey Fizzle’s wedding.

Madeleine L’Engle wrote a book on marriage called Two-Part Invention.  I haven’t started it yet, but I liked her last book so much I named my blog after it.  In honor of our anniversary, I thought I’d give this one a shot, too.

