Step One: Invite someone else to be in the Book Club.

I think, by definition, a club has to have at least two and probably more like three to four people to be considered a club.  That said, I sent a text to a semi-friend asking her if she would be interested in joining a book club.  I also asked her if she knew anyone else that would want to be a part of a book club (the whole thing about a club needing more than one or two people came into play here).

Step Two: Wait for a response.

She said yes!  I only had to wait 24 hours, but I was kinda nervous, imagining her reading the text and trying to figure out how she could get out of the invite.  But. now, my confidence is up, so I can go to Steps 3, 4, & 5.

Step Three: Invite more people.

Step Four: Pick where and when we want to meet.

Step Five: Start getting to know each other and pick a book that everyone will love and be excited to talk about.

If we’re doing a repeat, like, let’s all pick a book that you like/that you’ve read before/that would be a good Book Club book, I’d suggest…

Life of Pi

or

Kite Runner

or the classic

To Kill a Mockingbird

But, if we’re going to branch out and make suggestions for books we’ve wanted to read but hadn’t gotten to yet.  I’d say…

The Marriage Plot

or

State of Wonder

or

Cutting for Stone

I had to wait until I finished Harry Potter before initiating this Club.

Any book suggestions?

